#Cheap #auto #insurance #in #tampa #fl
Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheap Car Insurance in Orlando, Florida
Want to learn more about Orlando and how you can get cheap car insurance? Well, Orlando is a sizable city with an urban population of 1.4 million residents. Located in the geographic center of the state’s peninsula, Orlando attracts millions of tourists each year thanks to its numerous amusement parks including Universal Studios and Disney World.
Cheap Car Insurance is here to help you get the best car insurance to fit your needs in Orlando, Florida. Get your free auto insurance quote today!
Driving Conditions in Orlando
Traffic is especially heavy during the summer when families from around the world converge on Orlando for long vacations. The city has 10 major amusement parks and dozens of smaller attractions, and it’s a major shopping center for Florida residents. Interstate 4 runs right through the middle, and traffic slows to a crawl during rush hour. Florida’s Turnpike cuts travel time to Gainesville and Fort Pierce by more than an hour, but most of the heavy traffic is centered around I-4.
Odd or Unique Laws in Orlando
Orlando has its fair share of strange traffic laws. For example, drivers are prohibited from blocking any traveled wagon path, and elephant handlers must still pay parking meters if they dismount. At one point, swamp buggies were also considered motor vehicles, and drivers may not allow their vehicles to coast down hills in neutral. As implausible as such an act sounds, Floridians are not allowed to fish while simultaneously driving across a bridge.
Crime Statistics in Orlando
According to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, Orlando had nearly 2,000 vehicle thefts in 2012, which represents a downward shift of 11 percent from 2011. With 215.81 cars stolen per 100,000 residents, Orlando is 108th in the country for vehicle thefts.
Safety Requirements in Orlando
Seat Belt Law
In Florida, all drivers, front-seat passengers and passengers under 18 must fasten their safety belts, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Drivers and passengers 18 or older can be cited if they or any passenger under 18 are not properly strapped in. A driver will be charged with a seat belt violation if any passenger under 18 is not restrained with a seat belt or child restraint device.
Under Florida law, children 5 and under must be secured in a child restraint device. Children 4 and 5 must secured in a separate carrier, an integrated child seat or a child booster seat.
Florida requires motorcycle riders under 21 to wear a helmet. If you are over 21, you are not required to wear a helmet. If you do go without a helmet, you must carry $10,000 worth of medical payment insurance.
Distracted Driving Law
Texting while driving is illegal in Florida. However, talking on a cellphone while driving is allowed. A first-time offense under the texting-while-driving law can result in a $30 fine.
Impaired Driving Law
In Florida, a driver 21 and over can be charged under the DUI law if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. A first-time offender faces a maximum penalty of one year of probation, a one-year license suspension, a $1,000 fine, 50 hours of community service, a six-month installation of an interlock ignition device and impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days.
If a driver s BAC is at least 0.15 percent, a first-time offense can result in a maximum of one year of probation, nine months in jail, a one-year license suspension, a $2,000 fine, 50 hours of community service, a six-month installation of an interlock ignition device and impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days.
If a driver is under 21, the BAC threshold is 0.02 percent. DUI penalties increase if the BAC is 0.08 percent or above.
Drivers may be imprisoned at the court’s discretion, and driving with a minor or with a BAL of .15 or higher typically results in higher penalties. The court may also require the convicted driver’s auto insurance company to file an SR-22 form with the state.