#Cheapest #car #insurance #in #tennessee
Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheap Car Insurance in Clarksville, Tennessee
Find cheap car insurance in Clarksville, a southern military town bordering the Kentucky state line. The seat of Montgomery County, Clarksville is home to an estimated 150,287 residents, many of whom enjoy golfing, boating and dirt-track racing. The city became a household name in 1966 after the release of a No. 1 hit by the Monkees titled Last Train to Clarksville, and parts of the music video were filmed there.
Fort Campbell is only 10 miles from downtown, located on both sides of the Tennessee-Kentucky line. With a lower-than-average cost of living, Clarksville is a growing city and was recently ranked by Money Magazine among the nation s top 10 cities for computer-age Millennials looking for bigger paychecks. Austin Peay State University draws an average to 10,000 students to Clarksville.
Driving Conditions in Clarksville
Within 500 miles of two-thirds of the country, Clarksville lies about 50 miles northwest of Nashville via Interstate 24, which runs roughly along its eastern border north into Kentucky. Traffic on I-24 is dependent on the time of day, as well as any construction or accidents. The average commute time for Clarksville is 22 minutes, relatively short compared to the national average of just under 26 minutes, and residents report that the city is very spread out, thus it takes a 20-minute drive to get to most destinations.
Fort Campbell Boulevard, Wilma Rudolph Road and Madison Street have been named as the three most dangerous in the city based on the number of traffic crashes.
The website, smartway.tn.gov/traffic, displays real-time information on accidents, construction and weather-related delays. Information is also dispersed through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Twitter account. Drivers can access road and traveling conditions by calling 511, an automated voice response system through which callers can ask for specific roadways or regions.
Unique Laws in Clarksville
Clarksville city leaders in 2016 removed a limit on the number of liquor licenses that could be issued within the city. An original cap of one license per 6,000 residents was passed in 1963.
Tennessee laws forbid anyone to stand on the roadway to solicit either a ride or employment from drivers.
Also, if your car s sound system can be heard 50 feet away, it is considered excessive noise. Shooting at game from your car also is illegal, as is using a lasso to catch a fish, sharing your Netflix password or failing to install a hitching post in front of your business. A (thankfully) vague law prohibits crimes against nature, and parents may not require children to pick up trash from the road on Easter Sunday.
Clarksville Crime Statistics
FBI statistics compiled for 2016 shows 935 violent crimes in Clarksville, 12 of which were murder or manslaughter and 718 of which were aggravated assault. The local violent crime rate of 613 offenses per 100,000 residents is nearly double the average U.S. violent crime rate of 386 per 100,000. The local property crime rate is 2,526 per 100,000 residents, just a tad higher than the U.S. average of 2,451 per 100,000 residents.
Within Clarksville, 182 vehicles were stolen in 2016, FBI data shows, a rate of 119 per 100,000 residents. The national average is 220 incidents per 100,000 people, according to the National Insurance Crime Bureau.
Clarksville Safety Requirements
Texting while driving is illegal and all drivers and passengers must wear seat belts, according to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. In addition, motorcyclists and their passengers must wear helmets that meet federal safety standards.
Approved car seats are required for children up to age 3, and booster systems are required for those 4 to 8 years old who are under 4 feet, 9 inches tall. Infants under age 1 must ride in a rear-facing seat. Drivers must move over when possible while passing a stopped emergency vehicle with its lights engaged.
Clarksville Impaired Driving Laws
Drivers over 21 with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08 are higher can be charged with driving under the influence, as can those under 21 with a .02 result, Tennessee laws state. First-time offenders are subject to a $350 minimum fine and 48 hours in jail, plus paying for towing and storage. Charges are enhanced if the driver’s BAC is higher than the legal limit or if children in the car at the time of arrest.
Note that open alcohol containers anywhere in the car are illegal, according to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. Contact us to compare rates for cheap car insurance in Clarksville.